Rochester Local Section (Chartered in 1912)

Professor Richard Hartmann


The Rochester Section of the American Chemical Society wishes much success to Rich as he moves to the warm weather of California  and a new assignment.  Rich will be the Dean of Natural Science at Fullerton College starting on January 12, 2015.   Professor Hartmann was the head of the Chemistry Department at Nazareth College.

Our Top ACS Chemistry Ambassadors

Deborah Janes and Timothy Wilson exemplify the role of Chemistry Ambassadors. They both help educate kids and people about the importance of chemists and chemistry, by taking part in many community activities each year.  The following thank you note from the Arnett Library says it all.

November 15, 2014

Bruce Tehan, Site Supervisor
Arnett Branch Library
310 Arnett Boulevard
Rochester NY 14619

Dear Deb and Timothy,

Thank you so much for participating in the Arnett Branch Library’s Family Science Day event. You were a big hit and gave our young visitors fun learning experiences. You were very kind to share your knowledge and your love of science with Arnett’s kids. Our community is lucky to have the American Chemical Society as a friend.

Thanks again,
Bruce Tehan




2014 ACS Fellows from Rochester Section

 Henry J. Gysling

CatAssays and Eastman Kodak Company Research Laboratories (Retired)

Contribution to the science/profession: Recognized for development of solution and thermally developed imaging and patterning processes incorporating catalytic high-gain redox amplification chemistry and development of organotellurium ligand chemistry.

Contribution to the ACS community: Served the Rochester Local Section for 35 years in various volunteer and elected positions, including 2000 Chair, with an emphasis on education outreach, professional development, and Northeast Regional Meeting inorganic chemistry programs

 Robert S. Moore

Eastman Kodak Company (Retired)

Contribution to the science/profession: Managed the Eastman Kodak Polymer Physical Chemistry Laboratory of over 30 members, which was the mainstay of the Company's polymer understanding, with over six members becoming senior managers or scientists.

Contribution to the ACS community: With others, led the Division of Polymer Chemistry in programming and educational outreach, becoming Division Chair and then Chair of its Industrial Advisory Board, a significant source of program funding.

Professor Kimberly D. Chichester promoted at St. John Fisher College

Kim Chichester was promoted to Associate Professor and also granted tenure on June 10, 2014 when the Board of trustees from St John Fisher College met.  

Elizabeth Burns receives 2014 Crystal Apple Award


 Elizabeth Burns (Beth) at the High School Awards

 The Crystal Apple Award is presented annually to a member of the Fairport High School faculty.  This peer nominated award is a meaningful way to recognize excellence "in-house." 


1. Must be a full-time instructional staff member
2. Have been employed a minimum of 3 years in the district
3. Should be exceptionally skilled and dedicated
4. Should be respected by colleagues, students, and parents
5. Should play an active or supportive role in the school

Rich Ognibene nominated Beth for this award.  Beth is the teacher representative to the Rochester section of the American Chemical Society; the ACS is mostly professional chemists from Kodak, Xerox, Bausch and Lomb, etc. Very few teachers belong. Beth belongs AND has taken leadership on the ACS student awards night. Each May, the ACS gives out hundreds of awards to students at Monroe County schools for success in chemistry. This event brings parents, students and teachers together to celebrate academic excellence. I have spoken to many parents over the years who truly respect Beth’s efforts in the classroom and her willingness to organize this awards night to honor our science students. I proudly recommend Beth Burns for the Crystal Apple award. She is a great teacher, a great colleague and a great friend.  

Dick Cobb leading National ACS Committee

Dick was elected Chair of the National ACS Committee on Nominations and Elections.  Dick has been a member of this committee and now has the opportunity to lead it.

Dr. Nicholas Zumbulyadis receives the HIST 2012 Outstanding Paper Award


Dr. Nicholas Zumbulyadis recently received the HIST 2012 Outstanding Paper
Award for his article in the Bulletin for the History of Chemistry, 2010,
volume 35(1), p24-32, “Böttger's Eureka! New Insights into the European
Reinvention of Porcelain.”

Dr. Zumbulyadis with award and some of his porcelain collection

Dr.  Patrick Holland moves to Yale University


 Dr. Holland  has moved from the Chemistry Department at the University of Rochester to the Chemistry Department at Yale University where he will continue his work on transition-metal complexes of inexpensive metals, with the goal of understanding their reactions and increasing their potential for use in catalysis.

Rochester ACS Group

To facilitate networking, collaborate on ideas and exchange job information.

Jim Reynolds (coordinator)

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, May 15 at 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Monday, May 28 at 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday, Jun 19 at 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Tuesday, Jul 17 at 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM

National Meeting Countdown

ACS on Twitter