Rochester Local Section (Chartered in 1912)

2015 Harrison Howe Awardee


Dr. David W. C. MacMillan

Princeton University —Merck Center for Catalysis

 The Rochester Section of the American Chemical Society is proud to announce the selection of Dr. David W.C. MacMillan, the Chair of the Department of Chemistry (2010-2014) and James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry, for the 2015 recipient of the Harrison Howe Award.

MacMillan and his group's research is centered on the field of organic synthesis and catalysis. They are inspired by the pursuit of new concepts in synthetic organic chemistry involving organocatalysis, organo-cascade catalysis, metal-mediated catalysis, and total synthesis of natural products and pharmaceuticals. The highlights of their research include: SOMO catalysis (A New Mode of Organocatalytic Activation), Merging Photoredox Catalysis and Organocatalysis, Mechanistic Investigations on Organocatalysis, Organocascade Catalysis Directed Towards Total Synthesis, Total Synthesis of Complex Natural Products, High-throughput Reaction Development, and Applications to Drug Discovery.

This award will be presented on Thursday, May 7th, beginning at 7:30 pm when Professor MacMillan presents

“The Application of Photoredox Catalysis
 to New Transformations in Chemical Synthesis”

in the Class of 1962 Auditorium University of Rochester Medical Center. A poster session and dessert reception will follow at 8:30 pm in Flaum Atrium. 

For more information about the Harrison Howe Award lecture and event, please contact Lynda McGarry, Development Administrator, at the University of Rochester. 

A poster for the May 7th event 

Macmillan Lecture Abstract 


                               2012  Award Winner



The Rochester Section of the American Chemical Society is proud to announce the selection of Prof. Xiaoliang Sunney Xie (Mallinckrodt Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Harvard University, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology) as the 2012 recipient of the Harrison Howe Award. 

Professor Xie and his group are working at the interface of several disciplines, striving to develop new physical and chemical tools to solve compelling biological problems. Xie has made major contributions to the emergence of the field of single-molecule biophysical chemistry and its application to biology. 

              Harrison Howe Award Pictures

David W. McCamant (Award Presentation)

 Prof. Xiaoliang Sunney Xie


 Harrison Howe Lecture





The Harrison Howe Award was inaugurated in 1946 to honor one of the founders of the Rochester ACS Section. In addition to his role as a leader in the Rochester Section, Harrison Howe was the founding editor of Chemical and Engineering News and a fervent champion of industrial research and development. It was his belief that chemistry and the pursuit of chemical knowledge contribute to the betterment of society. The Harrison Howe Award is given to acknowledge and support this idea through recognition of an outstanding chemist.

              Previous Winners

             For more information

 Current Chair for Harrison Howe Award is Professor Bradley Nilsson at the University of Rochester

For more information

Rochester ACS Group

To facilitate networking, collaborate on ideas and exchange job information.

Jim Reynolds (coordinator)

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, Jul 17 at 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Tuesday, Aug 21 at 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Tuesday, Sep 18 at 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Tuesday, Oct 16 at 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM

National Meeting Countdown

ACS on Twitter